Myanmar will sign production sharing contracts in mid-May awarded under the country’s Onshore Blocks Second Bidding Round 2013.

The deadline was initially set for January 2014.

Khin Khin Aye, director of the Energy Planning Department, Ministry of Energy said, “We are working according to the procedures … we will sign the production sharing contracts in the middle of May.”

16 of the 18 onshore blocks offered were awarded during the round.

Eni, ONGC Videsh, Petronas, Pacific Energy Hunt, Petroleum Exploration (PVT), and British Virgin Islands-registered MRPL E&P were each awarded 2 blocks.

The government also awarded one block each to PTTEP, Brunei National Petroleum Company, CAOG, and JSOC Bashneft.

Click here to view the Myanmar oil and gas rules, regulations, and regulations.


Leave a Reply