FERC chairman Cheryl LaFleur. Image courtesey of Federal Energy Regulatory Commission.

The White House has named Cheryl LaFleur the Chairman of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC).

Her appointment is effective July 30, 2014.

LaFleur was first nominated to FERC by President Obama in 2010 and confirmed for a second term in 2014.

LaFleur has been FERC’s acting chairman since November 2013 when renewable energy advocate Ron Binz, Obama’s initial pick to head FERC, withdrew his name from consideration after facing stiff political resistance.

Before joining FERC, LaFleur had more than 20 years of experience as a leader in the electric and natural gas industry.

She served as executive vice president and acting CEO of National Grid USA.

LaFleur also held positions at National Grid USA and its predecessor New England Electric System including chief operating officer, president of the New England distribution companies and general counsel.

“I am very honored to lead the Commission at such an important time for the nation’s energy infrastructure and markets. I look forward to continuing to work with my colleagues and the dedicated FERC staff,” said LaFleur.


Leave a Reply