ExxonMobil said on Wedneday that it has named an atmospheric scientist to its board of directors.

The company has elected Dr. Susan K. Avery to its board of directors.

Avery is an atmospheric scientist is the the former president and director of the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution.

Avery’s appointment is effective February 1, 2017.

With Avery’s election, the ExxonMobil board now stands at 13 directors, 12 of whom are non-employee directors.

“Avery’s leadership experience in multiple academic and scientific organizations, coupled with her breadth of scientific and research expertise, reinforce the corporation’s long-standing technical and scientific foundation,” Exxon said.

Avery served as president and director of the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution from 2008 to 2015 and was the first woman and the first atmospheric scientist to hold that post.

Avery was named to the Scientific Advisory Board of the United Nations Secretary-General in 2013 and also serves on the National Research Council Global Change Research Program Advisory Committee.

Avery also participates on advisory committees with NASA, NOAA, the National Science Foundation and the National Park System.

Avery has authored or co-authored more than 80 peer-reviewed articles on atmospheric dynamics and variability throughout her career.

Avery earned a bachelor’s degree in physics from Michigan State University, and a master’s in physics and Ph.D. in atmospheric science from the University of Illinois Urbana–Champaign.

She is a professor emerita at the University of Colorado Boulder and recently served as a senior fellow at the Consortium for Ocean Leadership.


Leave a Reply