Image courtesy of Rio Tinto/Flickr.

Mining giant Rio Tinto has tapped three energy executives for roles on the company’s board of directors.

The company said on Friday that it will appoint three new independent non-executive directors to the boards of Rio Tinto plc and Rio Tinto Limited who have experience in the energy industry.

Former Sasol Ltd chief executive David Constable and former Centrica plc chief executive Sam Laidlaw will be appointed with immediate effect.

Royal Dutch Shell CFO Simon Henry will join the board with effect from July 1, 2017.

Constable has more than 30 years of experience in senior roles at large-scale construction and engineering companies and spent five years as president and chief executive officer of Sasol Ltd from 2011.

Constable is also a non-executive director of Anadarko Petroleum Corporation and ABB Ltd.

Henry joined Royal Dutch Shell in 1982 and has held senior roles across the business in Europe, Asia and the Middle East.

He was appointed as chief financial officer and as a board member of Royal Dutch Shell in 2009 and is also a non-executive director of Lloyds Banking Group plc.

Simon will leave Royal Dutch Shell at the end of June 2017.

Laidlaw has held several executive roles across the globe at energy companies and served as CEO at Centrica for eight years until 2014.

He also serves as a non-executive director of HSBC Holdings and chairman of Neptune Oil & Gas Ltd.

“Each of them has an outstanding pedigree, having operated in upstream, capital intensive and global industries. With diverse expertise across successful international engineering, resources and financial businesses, I have no doubt that their insight and hands-on experience will strengthen the board,” Rio Tinto chairman Jan du Plessis said.

Rio Tinto added that current non-executive directors Robert Brown and Anne Lauvergeon have indicated their intention to step down from the company’s board at the Rio Tinto annual general meeting on May 4, 2017.


Leave a Reply